Religious Emblems for Scouts BSA

Light of Christ Rank requirement: Tiger and Wolf

The purpose is to help the young Cub Scout, ages 6 - 7, develop a personal relationship with Jesus. With the parents' active assistance and participation in this program, it is hoped that the Cub will come to see Jesus as a real person and his friend.

Parvuli Dei Rank requirement: Bear, Webelos and AOL

The purpose of the Parvuli Dei (Children of God) emblem is to help older Cub Scout, ages 8 - 10, explore a wide range of activities in order to discover the presence of God in their daily lives as members of their families and parishes. It will help also to develop a good, positive self-image through the contributions they can make to the group or community.

Ad Altare Dei Age recommendation: 13 and up

The purpose of the Ad Altare Dei ( to the altar of God) program is to help Catholic Youth of the Roman Rite develop a fully Christian way of life in the faith community. The program is organized in chapters based on the seven sacraments. The seven sacraments are a primary means toward spiritual growth.

Pope Pius XII Age recommendation: 15 and up

The program deals with different life choices (single, married, religious, ordained), occupations and ministries in the church as calls from God.

Additional information can be found on the National Catholic Committee on Scouting website